A flutter on Friday 10 September

Something old….

Ok.  A confession.  At which I give you permission to scoff and snigger. 

When the burd was a chicklet, I was big into ELO.  (Okay enough already.)

Looking back, it probably had something to do with playing the cello and there being very few cellists to look up to.  Discovering that a band was prepared to play them in “pop music” (I use the term advisedly), was an eye-opener.  And Out of the Blue was possibly the first album I bought with my own money: I was only 10 at the time….  So given the untimely death of one of ELO’s founding members, it seemed fitting to give you a very old track indeed this week.  In honour of cellists everywhere, of which I am no longer one, sadly.

…something new

This weekend I had hoped to be attending the End of the Road festival.  But it wasn’t to be.  Too many miles, too much money, and too many days required to get there and back.  I am properly gutted.  There are at least 20 bands on the line up that I would pay decent money to see.  So I will have to live vicariously through my i-tunes instead this weekend.  And this band will certainly be playing.  I’ve been hooked since hearing them on the Vic Galloway show on Radio Scotland late last year.   Why do I like them?  Cos they embody a little of all of the burdz favourite things – harmonies, drums and weirdness.  Enjoy. 

Something borrowed….

This has been a week of highlights and low points.   A very big highlight indeed was the return of Mad Men to our screens on BBC 4.  There is so much to enjoy about this programme, not least that nothing much ever happens.  That’s the point really.  It’s about the people, the place, the setting, the times, and the fabulous attention to period detail in the clothes, the hairstyles, the habits.  Oh, and dialogue that is to die for.  Who gets the best one liners?   Sterling probably.  The delectable Joan a close second.  But as Peggy said in this first episode of series 4, “We’re all here because of you;  all we want to do is please you”.  And because the show is centred around the dark, tortured, brilliant Don Draper, here are a few of my favourite Don-isms:

“Nostalgia – it’s delicate, but potent. Teddy told me that in Greek, “nostalgia” literally means “the pain from an old wound.” It’s a twinge in your heart far more powerful than memory alone. This device isn’t a spaceship, it’s a time machine. It goes backwards, and forwards… it takes us to a place where we ache to go again. It’s not called the wheel, it’s called the carousel. It let’s us travel the way a child travels – around and around, and back home again, to a place where we know we are loved.”

 “I keep going to a lot of places and ending up somewhere where I’ve already been”

“Sterling Cooper has more failed artists and intellectuals than the Third Reich”

“This is your brother. We don’t know who he is yet, or what he’s gonna be…and that is a wonderful thing.”

Oh, and I really wouldn’t visit the website, unless you want to spoil the whole of the autumn for yourself….

….something blue

Nope.  Nothing blue happening this weekend.  Not in this nest.  For the Big Yin will be home from his summer of adventures next week.  And the Burd and the Boy Wonder are fit to burst with excitement.   His room will be cleaned, his favourite foods prepared…. and by next weekend he’ll be being shouted at again.   It was meant to be.

Yet there are many facing up to the empty nest syndrome as their chicks flutter off hither and thon to college, university and gap years.  Not such a happy weekend for you then.  You have my sympathies.  My advice?  Do something you haven’t had time or energy to do for say, the last 18 years.  Just don’t drift round the nest sighing and sobbing….

For nests soon to be filled, and those that are emptying, here’s a track from one of the finest bands to come out of Scotland in recent years.  The aptly named Sons and Daughters.

2 thoughts on “A flutter on Friday 10 September

  1. Och! I liked (still like) ELO. Nothing wrong with pop music.

    I’m liking Django Django………

    And Sons and Daughters seem no’ bad too

    Thanks for the add to your blogroll.

    I’ll reciprocate and drop in noo and again if you don’t mind?

    • I still have my Out of the Blue album and was a nice trip down memory lane surfing the Youtube videos of all the tracks!

      Glad you like the others too. You are a very welcome addition to my blogroll – give away vs take away is the funniest thing I’ve read in ages. And yes please do reciprocate and visit. Drop in on the flutter every Friday for choons and quotes and blether!

Comments are closed.