A flutter on Friday 10 June

Something old…

Well it’s one way to describe the burdz pop but for a man who picked up his old age pension yesterday, he is pretty sprightly.   In fact, I have no doubt he could still outsprint me, especially to the bar.

Parents continually have the ability to surprise you.  You think you know them and then a wee gem slips out.  Like – he had a trial for Hibs as a schoolboy but didn’t go because he and his best pal promised each other they’d go together and the pal couldn’t due to being in hospital.  Yep, he coulda been a contender but loyalty won out.

And that little anecdote sums him up well.

Regular readers of the flutter will know that the burdz musical heritage began at an early age, thanks to the parents.  For a time, they were the embarrassingly cool parents, with a state of the art Sony hi-fi that made pals stop in their tracks and a tendency to already be into all the bands I was trying to discover for myself.  But of course, for every band I liked, there were several that still make me curl my toes with discomfort.  Jethro Tull anyone?

Not complaining now though;  I mean, how many folk can boast that their first proper gig was to the Who at the Apollo, aged 11 or 12, taken by their parents because it was important that their children got to see such a seminal group before they hung up their guitars and drumsticks for good?!  Either that or they couldn’t get sitters….

And a truly wonderful side benefit of having a dad “working down the pier” was getting an autograph collection to die for, courtesy of him having to search every clapped out van heading for the last ferry across the water of a night.  Though he scored one better by getting to see Simple Minds, just as they were breaking through, perform an impromptu gig on the top of bar tables at 2am.

An extra birthday present then, dad:  a flutter just for you.

Buddy Holly – Everyday 

The Beatles – In my Life

The Corries – Scots wha hae

Nickel Creek – Flow gently sweet Afton

Fats Domino – Blueberry hill 

The Who – Behind blue eyes

David Bowie – Heroes

John Mayall’s Bluesbreakers – Hideaway

Ray Charles – What’d I say

Gerry Rafferty – Baker Street

Roxy Music – Virginia Plain

Robbie Williams – Angels

Sensational Alex Harvey Band – Boston tea party

Spencer Davis Group – Gimme some Lovin’ 

Cream – Sunshine of your love

Manfred Mann – 5 4 3 2 1

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers – Don’t come around here no more

Eddi Reader – Patience of angels

Dire Straits – Brothers in Arms

Fleetwood Mac – Oh Daddy

2 thoughts on “A flutter on Friday 10 June

  1. One of my biggest regrets was missing SAHB at the Apollo when Alex Harvey broke his leg. They split not long after and the rest is history. I do like “There’s no lights on the Christmas tree mother, they’re burning Big Louie tonight”.

    I don’t remember any music from my parents but my dad did whistle “Oh what a beautiful morning” a lot. Thanks for reminding me.

  2. He has impeccable taste -even The Corries who I suffered live with my parents!

    Nothing wrong with Jethro Tull!!!

Comments are closed.